“Turtles All the Way Down” by John Green

turtles-all-the-way-down-hd-cover-john-green.jpgOh, John Green books, how I love thee. I remember when I was a freshman in college and my roommate told me about this book that had just come out, “The Fault in Our Stars.” She let me borrow it and I became so emotionally attached to that book and those characters. I thought I would never read anything so profound again in my life.

I don’t think that “Turtles All the Way Down” is quite to that level, but it is still exceptional.

John Green has a way of writing about people that make it feel like they actually exist. Usually characters are predictable or too perfect or speak in a super eloquent manner that does not happen in real life, but the characters in this book are so real that it feels like John Green may have just been documenting the lives of a few teenagers he met.

The story is told from the perspective of Aza Holmes, when she has just found out that there is a $100,000 reward for information on the disappearance of Russell Pickett Sr., who is wanted for questioning after his company embezzled money (or something to that effect). Aza’s best friend Daisy wants to investigate, so they take a trip over to the Pickett estate, where Aza is reintroduced to Davis Pickett, who she has not seen in years.

A romance blossoms for both girls, but it is not sickeningly perfect, which I love about this book. All the while, Aza’s anxiety has her spinning down tightening thought spirals about a certain type of bacteria that her brain tells her will kill her.

At the end of the book, Aza is not magically *cured* from her anxiety, but I wouldn’t want her to be. The loose ends are all tied up, but the last pages make you question what happens in the future. I would be eager to read John Green’s thoughts on those last few paragraphs.

Another part of this book that I enjoy is that aside from everyone seeming like a real person, the book is super educational. Davis Pickett is super into astronomy, so he talks about stars and planets and meteor showers, Daisy writes Star Wars fan-fiction (not that I know much about Star Wars), and Aza is supremely educated on her microbes. It just makes me feel like the book dives deeper than it necessarily had to, but it makes it all the more pleasant to read.

Now that I’ve finished this book, I’ve added “The Fault in Our Stars” and “Looking for Alaska” to my list because John Green. I’m still wrapping up the “Series of Unfortunate Events” books and the collection of books written by Ann Brashares. Plus “The Glass Castle” but I will persist.

Bye for now,
Maegan

Leave a Reply

