“The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants” by Ann Brashares

sisterhood-of-the-traveling-pants-book-coverI’m really not sure what made me want to reread this series, but it’s been on my mind lately. So about a week or two ago I started on this book, which is the first in a series of four.

For some reason, I remembered these books being much denser and taking much longer to read, but the chapters are not excessively long or anything and I think they come in right around 300 pages each.

I haven’t read the series in years, but I remembered the gist of things. Partly because I own both movies based off the series, which I’ll probably rewatch when I’m done reading the books.

The book centers on a group of four 16-year-old friends over the first summer of their lives where they will all be apart. The characters are somewhat stereotypical, but what are you gonna do? There’s sassy, Puerto Rican Carmen visiting her dad in South Carolina, discovering as she arrives that *surprise* he is engaged to some woman and lives with her and her two teenage kids; tall, thin, blond, sporty Bridget away at soccer camp in Mexico; “beautiful Lena,” who is spending the summer in Greece with her grandparents; and edgy, pierced-nose Tibby (short for Tabitha) who is stuck in their hometown working at a store called Wallman’s and I’m not sure if that’s supposed to be a play off of Walmart, Walgreen’s or both.

Basically the book starts off with Carmen casually buying a pair of jeans that she never intends to wear from a secondhand clothing store. The girls then discover that this one pair of jeans magically fits them all perfectly (not realistic at all) and they decide to mail them around from one person to the next until they’re back together at the end of the summer. Hence the traveling part of traveling pants.

Each character faces her own challenges through the summer, whether it’s boy drama, family drama, or the fact that Tibby meets and befriends a 12-year-old named Bailey who has leukemia. There is a pretty good amount of depth, but I’m sure it could go deeper. It works for the intended audience though.

I’ve already started reading book two, “The Second Summer of the Sisterhood,” and I’m about two-thirds of the way done with “A Series of Unfortunate Events: The Austere Academy” by Lemony Snicket. I’m trying really hard not to start another book before finishing these two series.

Wish me luck,
Maegan

Leave a Reply

