“The Martian” by Andy Weir

18007564I’ve wanted to read this book ever since I saw the movie based off it a couple years ago. And now that I’ve read the book I want to watch the movie again. But from what I remember from the movie, it was pretty spot-on with the book.

The premise is that astronaut Mark Watney has just been stranded on Mars after his mission was aborted, he was injured, and his crew mates all thought he was dead. He is a much stronger man than most for being able to live on Mars alone for this long. He ends up being there about a year and a half, which is ridiculous when you think about it.

Anyway, shenanigans ensue because obviously it’s Mars. There’s always some problem that needs fixing or some impending doom that Mark has no idea he’s about to walk right into, but NASA can’t tell him because there are no functioning communications systems.

The book is told primarily from Mark’s point of view in the form of mission logs. Once it gets a little more into the plot, that alternates with the higher-ups at NASA and occasionally Mark’s original crew.

There’s a ton of science going on in this book, which I am super not into (science, that is), but things were explained relatively well. There were still a few parts where my eyes started glazing over while reading about chemical reactions and the like, but I made it through. It seems like there’s a lot more that goes into space missions than any of us non-space people would know. It was just a very interesting take and a different type of book than I usually choose. But I am glad that I read it.

That’s all for now,
Maegan

Leave a Reply

