“Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince” by J.K. Rowling

hbp-us-jacket-artI thought it was going to take me much longer to finish this book, but I got through it surprisingly quick, considering that I pretty much only listen to it when I’m driving to and from work.

I’m just really excited now that I get to read “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows,” because that is clearly the most superior book in the series.

At this point, Harry Potter is 16 years old and has had more near death experiences that probably my entire family will face in all our lifetimes. And yet, he perseveres in the quest to end Lord Voldemort’s life. It feels like this is about the spot where J.K. Rowling decided that 16 year olds were old enough to experience some really messed up moral stuff and that is how Horcruxes came to be. I really wonder if the Horcruxes were something she had been thinking about all along or if they just came to here in this book. So many questions for J.K. and I’m sure exactly zero will be answered.

Not only do we get to read about good vs. evil and the links one man/monster will go to for immortality, but we also get to see some awkward teen romance, which just does everything for the characters. The one thing that kinda bothers me there is that Harry has just decided he likes Ginny, even though she’s been pining for him for years. She is too good for him, imo.

I want to start “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows,” but I am also juggling three different series right now and I’m trying to wrap at least one of them up first. Probably “The 100” series. I can’t wait for that blog post, because I sure do have some thoughts on those books now. I’m also still working on “The Heir,” which is part of “The Selection” series. Eventually I also want to get to “A Series of Unfortunate Events.” In due time, I believe.

That’s all for now,
Maegan

Leave a Reply

