“The Selection” by Kiera Cass

the-selection-kiera-cass-largeTold you I was going through a Kiera Cass thing. I started this one in the middle of listening to “The Siren,” but I actually read the physical book this time. It was a great feeling.

This book is so easy to read. I think I read half of it in the past day and I read the first 100 pages on an hour and a half plane ride last week. But I also know that I like this book because I’ve read the first three books in the series already. There are now five books and I’m pretty excited to get through the next two so I can get to the new material.

This story is about America Singer and her basically being drafted into this thing called The Selection, which is basically like a royal version of The Bachelor for the crown prince of Illea, formerly known as the United States of America before the fourth world war.

Just like “The Siren,” this book is incredibly creative and I would love to be able to come up with a concept like this, but only time will tell if that is doable.

Anywho, America enters the Selection after just having broken up with her secret boyfriend of two years, and she originally doesn’t want to have anything to do with any of it. Welp, she meets the prince and he turns out to be a decent guy. They decide to be friends, but then she starts getting jealous when he dates the other girls (hello Bachelor drama). Surprise, now they have feelings for each other. The book ends when the girls have been whittled down from 35 to 6, and those 6 are referred to as the Elite. Hence the second book in the series being titled “The Elite.”

But there are also little novellas between each novel in the series, so I will have to read those as well. But the story is interesting so it’s not like it’s a chore, but I’m excited to get through to the books I haven’t read yet.

All the while, I am still about halfway through “Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix.” There is just not enough time in the day to go to work and read all the books I want to read and watch all the Gilmore Girls I want to watch and color all the adult coloring books I want to color. I don’t know how people do it.

Here’s to double posting,
Maegan

Leave a Reply

