“Before I Fall” by Lauren Oliver

6482837Ok, not going to lie, I only started on this book because I saw that it was becoming a movie and the trailer looked really good. So I had no idea what I was getting myself into.

In the beginning, I didn’t think I would like the book because it was about a *popular* girl, so I figured I couldn’t relate at all. But it wasn’t a typical mean girl story and there were a lot of good characters and I ended up liking it a lot.

One of the best parts about the book was the cadence. There were phrases that were repeated and pieces of poetry that were used and you would think that they were just helping the flow of the book, but later you would realize that each had a meaning and added value to the story.

Added value: Sarah Drew read the audiobook and I’m a huge Grey’s Anatomy fan so it was like April Kepner was telling me things about her life and it was great.

I do like a little suspense in my literature and this book had that too. The whole time I was thinking “There’s no way this can happen” and then at the end you’re left wondering, “Did that actually happen?” It’s really left up to the reader to determine how the book ended, which I liked.

Overall, I liked this book and it made me want to read more books by Lauren Oliver.

Read it, fam,
Maegan

Leave a Reply

