“Me Before You” by Jojo Moyes

me_before_youSo I started this book several months ago with the hopes of finishing it before the movie based on it came out in theaters in June. Clearly I failed. I got about halfway through before the movie, saw the movie anyway, and then just couldn’t get any hurry up and go about reading it because I already knew what was going to happen.

It was a great movie, so I expected the book to be pretty good, and it was. A couple times I tripped myself up because the book is set in the UK and a few things were mentioned in casual UK terms. Like knickers. Or trainers. That one really threw me for a loop.

Anyway, around the time the movie based on the book came out there was a big uproar about the fact that one of the big plot points in the story revolves around physician-assisted suicide. Which I am not going to go anywhere near. You have your thoughts and I’ll have mine and we can just agree that Jojo Moyes did a very good job with the character development of all the people in this book. There was a lot of detail that went into each character in Louisa Clark’s life but there was just the right amount of vagueness in my opinion to leave a few things open for interpretation.

I may read some of Jojo Moyes’s other books one day, but right now I’m still working on my current list, which hasn’t really changed. I’ll let you know how that goes but right now I’m spending my weekend binge-watching Gilmore Girls so not much reading this weekend.

Until later,
Maegan

Leave a Reply

