“The Hunger Games” by Suzanne Collins

hungergames_posterThank goodness for audiobooks on long drives. I had to drive across the country to visit my family last week and I ended up listening to this entire book on audiobook on the way there. Said long drive was rendered even longer when my car got a flat tire, but that is another story.

Anyway, I’ve obviously read this trilogy before, but I was looking for something short and easy to listen to and my public library had all three books available, so decision made. I watched the movies a couple months ago, but I haven’t read the books in a while so there were some details that I forgot about and just some things to remember that weren’t in the movies.

One thing I couldn’t not notice about the audiobook is some of the pronunciations. I always considered Panem to be pronounced like “Pan-EM,” but this thing consistently called it “PAN-em.” Same with Peeta Mellark. I read it in my mind like “Me-LLARK” but audiobook says “MELL-ark.” The more you know. But not really because I’m going to keep saying Peeta Me-LLARK should not be trapped in the capital of Pan-EM.

Because the drive was so long I also started on the second book in the series, “Catching Fire,” but I’m only about three-quarters of the way through now. I’m still working on that one, then “Mockingjay,” then I will HOPEFULLY finish “Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire,” but I’m also still reading “This is How it Ends” and “Me Before You” (almost there!!).

Wish me luck,
Maegan

Leave a Reply

