“Wicked” by Gregory Maguire

51ca-plq84l-_sx304_bo1204203200_I literally only got through this book by sheer force of will. If you will recall, I started it nearly a year ago. It’s been ten months. To get through A SINGLE BOOK. In any other situation I would feel ashamed, but this one was just so bad that I feel proud I even made it through.

Now I’m sure this book has appealed to plenty of people. Obviously it’s the inspiration for a huge theatrical production, which I’ve seen and absolutely love. That’s actually why I got the book. The musical was so good and amazing that I thought the book would be at least as good and amazing. It’s not.

I’m not sure if it’s this hard to get through for everyone else, or if it’s just me but JEEZ this was a strugglebus. I know it was a fantasy book and it was set in a magical land far, far away, but it’s like Gregory Maguire was just making up words and not bothering to let anyone else in on his secrets. I have a suspicion that more will be revealed in the sequel, “Son of a Witch,” but I am not even going to try cracking that one open. Sure, I’m interested in the plot of the sequel, but that’s where Wikipedia will come in handy.

In other book news, I’m still working on “Me Before You” and that one’s been several months in the making too, but it’s not taking nearly as long as “Wicked.” I’m also still reading “Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire,” but that whole series is just kind of an on the side thing. A couple days ago I blasted through half the “Hunger Games” trilogy on audiobook and that post is forthcoming. I feel good about making some progress on these books, so we’ll see how it goes!

For now,
Maegan

Leave a Reply

