“Paper Towns” by John Green

PaperTowns2009_6AJohn Green is my favorite. He is so witty and there’s so much humor. I want to write like John Green.

This book has been out for several years but I only just got around to buying it. Yes, that is partly because the movie is coming out in June. But now I can’t wait for the movie because the book is really good. Admittedly, the first half pulled me in a lot more and then seemed to slow down, but just the interactions that John Green creates between these characters is worth it. His writing is amazing. Definitely my favorite author. Makes me want to reread “Looking for Alaska” and read “An Abundance of Katherines” and “Will Grayson, Will Grayson.”

This book is about Quentin Jacobsen, affectionately referred to as “Q” by those close to him, and his search for the ever mysterious Margo Roth Speigelman. Spoiler alert, I don’t think Margo Roth Spiegelman deserves Quentin’s time and energy. But you know, can’t tell a fictional character that.

It’s written in three parts, with each part chronicling a different part of Quentin’s being with/discovering Margo Roth Spiegelman.

I just can’t get over how much thought must have been put into this book and the planning it took John Green to make this world.

I really want to write a book. I want it to be as good as John Green’s books but I feel that is a standard that is difficult to achieve.

Maybe, maybe not,
Maegan

Leave a Reply

