“Death of a Kleptomaniac” by Kristen Tracy

13455508When I found this at the library I seriously thought that the death of the kleptomaniac would just be figurative, because it’s a teen fiction novel.

But no. A klepto actually dies. Spoiler alert.

The first hundred or so pages are actually about this girl Molly’s life as a sixteen-year-old and so on and so forth. Until one fateful day when she dies. At which point she is transported to some kind of transition period before the crossing over part of her death.

She has to visit her family and friends and there’s a villain soul trying to screw her over, under the radar of course.

Anyway, she, in soul form, has to figure out what in the world she’s doing with little help from the intake counselor of her soul, Louise.

This book is actually pretty good, for having such an obviously Photoshopped cover. I admit, I was literally judging this book by its cover. Seriously, I’m not a huge fan of the color pink, but I decided to give it a shot and it was actually really good. I finished this one in just a few days.

I think it did leave a little bit of unfinished business at the end, though. I really wanted to know what happened to all the people Molly left behind. Did Henry move on? Did Tate totally turn down Ruthann? Did Sadie and Joy become friends? Who the heck is Ansel? These are important questions that were left unresolved.

I’m going to go ponder the lives of these fictional characters now,
Maegan

Leave a Reply

