“Handcuffs” by Bethany Griffin

3189111For real, with this title and this cover I was expecting something suspenseful and thrilling. But no. This book is basically about a sixteen-year-old girl and her extremely dysfunctional relationships, with both her family and her kind of boyfriend. The boyfriend (kind of) is never even named.

This one took me a while to read. My public library lets you check books out for three weeks and I still had to renew it for three more to finish it and I really only finished it because it’s due in two days and I don’t think I can renew it again.

Even after reading all 306 pages of this book I still can’t figure out what the point of it was. Throughout the whole thing there were several directions where I think the thing could have gone and it seemed like the publishers just picked one random storyline out of this thing and decided to title the book based on that piece of plot. Seriously, I think it could have also been called “Stalker,” “Grounded,” or “Him.”

There was so much potential but I really didn’t feel this book going anywhere while I read it. I guess it was just not my cup of tea. I don’t even drink tea. Unless it’s sweet tea. I’m from the south, y’all.

Anyway, next up I am rereading my favorite series, called “Hush, Hush” by Becca Fitzpatrick. I’ve actually already started on the first book and I’m about halfway through, which has probably contributed to me taking so long to finish “Handcuffs.” That and the fact that I have been working an awful lot these past few weeks. But it’s not very bad because I love my food service job and I’m not even being sarcastic.

It’s 2 in the morning and I’m still awake,
Maegan

Leave a Reply

