“On Pointe” by Lorie Ann Grover

643334Fun fact: I used to take dance classes when I was younger. Literally 12 years in dance classes. But I was never a super awesome dancer or anything. I just did them once a week for fun.

I enjoyed it though, and now that I’m older I wish I would’ve kept doing it. At the time I was in marching band and it was just too much to do when I was 14 and couldn’t drive myself to everything.

Anyway, I found this book at my local library and decided to give it a go and it was pretty good.

It’s one of those books that’s written in poem form and I can’t remember what that’s called. The first book I read like that was “Crank” by Ellen Hopkins. I should really read those books again because I remember them being phenomenal.

“On Pointe” is about Clare, who is a ballet dancer training at a conservatory with a dream to dance in City Ballet. She is a wonderful dancer but her teacher tells her she is too tall to dance professionally and she has to learn to deal with life without dance. Her grandpa, who she is living with, has a stroke and is confined to a wheelchair with one half of his body paralyzed. Clare and her parents move in with him and there’s some conflict over the whole dance thing but eventually Clare realizes how much she loves dance and joins the adult class at the conservatory.

The only thing about this book is just that after I finished I was just kind of like, “Ok, what’s next?” I really like books that leave me in a state of not being able to even think about another book because I am so emotionally exhausted by what I just read. But it was still good.

Moving on,
Maegan

Leave a Reply

