“The One” by Kiera Cass

ImageStill trying to control the muscles in my face, they’re smiling so much. Of course, happy ending. That’s why I read these things you know.

I read this article on BuzzFeed about the struggles of being addicted to YA books as an adult and I’m telling you, describes muh lyfe.

This was a less than two day read for me. I got it from my library after requesting it. It’s pretty newly released and I had to wait in line and now there are other people behind me so I had a shortened time for reading it but it didn’t even matter because I couldn’t put it down.

I was Internetting just now seeing if they’re planning on making a movie of this thing because it just seems like the type of young adult trilogy that would get a movie deal (and of course the final book in the trilogy would be a two-part movie, we all know, for “creative reasons” or whatever). Apparently the first book in this series, “The Selection,” already has a TV movie. Actually, I think it has two TV movies. According to IMDb, there was one in 2012 and another in 2013. Same plot line, different casts. But now that I know these exists I feel as though my life will not be complete until I see both these TV movies, no matter the quality. Although they did have pretty high ratings, so who knows, could be my new faves. Plural. Because there are two of them. 

As far as the book goes, I feel like, as an adult addicted to young adult novels, it is much easier for me now, as I grow older, to see how, trying to put this nicely, not mature the characters are yet. I mean, I guess I shouldn’t expect them to be, they are like 17 years old, tops. Not that I’m that much older, but I definitely recognize how I am not like that anymore.

So basically during the whole book I was just thinking, “Geez, America, just tell him you love him!” But America was so prideful that she wouldn’t do it because the dude had too much potential to hurt her, even though he totally loved her back and just neither one would say anything.

But like I said, happy ending, so I’m happy. My name is Maegan and I approve of this trilogy.

I’m still reading “The Fault in Our Stars” and I bought my advance ticket for this Thursday to see the movie and I am SO. EXCITED.

I’m also in the midst of “Ender’s Game.” I’m not sure how I feel about it yet. I’m about 50 pages in but there are so many questions I have.

I also checked out this little book by Kiera Cass with these short stories that go along with “The Selection” trilogy so I’m probably about to start that and use it as an excuse to not go to sleep at a decent hour.

Like I could sleep anyway, I’m still so excited from this happy ending!

I can’t type any longer, I’ve got to go read some more,

Maegan

Leave a Reply

