“Prom” by Laurie Halse Anderson

ImageThis is a no judgment blog.

I said I was going to read every book I own, I own this book. I own several more of a similar genre, as I used to be an adolescent female with a thing for sappy teen romance. Sue me.

Anyway, this book was WAY different than the other Laurie Halse Anderson books I’ve read, like “Speak” or “Catalyst” or “Wintergirls” or “Twisted,” which all feature some hard-hitting emotionally wrenching situation that some poor guy/gal has to suffer through. This was about, you guessed it, prom.

I’ve owned this book for years, since well before my actual prom. I just never got around to reading it. But now I have, so accomplishment.

The one thing I liked about this book was that it didn’t require too much from its reader. You know, some books get you so emotionally invested and you just never want to put them down. This one kept me interested, but I didn’t feel guilty just picking it up for a few minutes at a time and then putting it down so I could come back later. It helps even out the load, since, with this book, I was literally reading three books at once. At the present time I have just completed “Prom,” I’ve gotten halfway through “The Fault in Our Stars” by John Green (my absolute favorite book of all time), and I am a little over halfway through “Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret” by Judy Blume. Regardless of the fact that it’s a book about 12-year-olds waiting for their periods, I own it. And a few days ago I checked out “Ender’s Game” by Orson Scott Card, so I’ve got to get on that too.

If it wasn’t for this darn LSAT coming up I would just spend all day reading and I would knock out this whole read-every-book-on-the-shelf before I go back to school in the fall.

But instead I’m taking the biggest standardized test of my entire life in 11 days and I still have to go through 1.5 entire sections in my prep book.

Wish me luck,
Maegan

Leave a Reply

