“Tuesdays with Morrie” by Mitch Albom

ImageI am on a mission to read every book I own. My bookshelf is pretty much organized by author’s last name, with a few newer additions just thrown in where there’s space.

Last time I checked I own around 185 books so this could take me years with the amount of times I get distracted by new library books.

Anywho, the only reason I own this book is because my stepsister once had to read it as a summer reading assignment in high school. She’s not one to read leisurely, so eventually the book came into my possession. I’ve read it once before but it’s been a few years.

This one is less than 200 pages, and I finished it in two days. But that’s pretty easy because I’m on vacation, and the job that I finally locked down hasn’t begun yet.

The book is based on a true story, and is basically just a true book. I guess that’s the definition of non-fiction, which is usually not my type. This is one good one though.

It just basically tells about the author’s weekly meetings with his old college professor, who has contracted Lou Gehrig’s disease. He is slowly fading away but he refuses to let it get to him. Instead, he detaches himself from it and instead uses what’s left of his existence to spend time with family and friends and just appreciate life. 

There’re lots of little meaningful things that Morrie says that it seems like the whole world should hear. It seems interesting to me that this one man can see and understand what makes the world bad and he can share how to fix it, but the majority of the population cannot see the same things. If one man is able to realize all of this, why can’t everyone else?

I’m going to go ponder the meaning of life now,
Maegan

One thought on ““Tuesdays with Morrie” by Mitch Albom

  1. patricia May 27, 2014 / 2:09 am

    oh my mitch albom is a great author! i met him and 😭 love it!!!!! hi i’m a newbie here so it would also mean a lot if you check out my blog- i follow back! kisses!

Leave a Reply

